My Testimony on 2/21/14 at Stean-Cassidy-Cassidy Town Hall

My name is Kathy Powers. I am on the Steering Committee of the Alliance for Community Services and on the Board of Northside Action for Justice. I live with bipolar illness since the age of 11. I thank goodness that I have Medicare and Medicaid.

I sincerely believe that the four-drug limit be abolished. I take 20 different medications a day. If I had to choose only four of drugs on my list, I would have to choose losing my kidneys, thyroid, gi tract, perennial rhinitis, chronic pain that goes along my five back fusions, liver, suffer parkinsonian symptoms, suffer movement disorder symptoms that involve me biting my mouth spasmodically, lose control of my diabetes and/or risk my psychiatric welfare. When the rules change for dual-eligibles (persons with Medicare and Medicaid benefits), the reality of a medication limitation looms closer every day.

When the well-intentioned prior authorization process was added, there was some hope to obtain sufficient medication. Unfortunately, the prior authorization process yielded unworkable results. Persons at my C4 drop-in center had their medications denied. The reasons for the denials included “denial because it is denied,” “denial because it was already approved.”The latter denial of medication caused my friend to cut herself from head to toe in total frustration and spend a lengthy hospital time to heal from her physical wounds while she received her needed medication. The authorization process is broken and dangerous.

When one takes medications as I do, this situation effects dental health. I have three teeth left on the bottom of my mouth and I’m missing four teeth on the top (show). This lack of teeth causes me to choke a great deal when I eat, makes it almost impossible to chew. I need dentures, at least on the bottom, so I will stop choking, but I can’t afford them and can’t find any assistance to get them. I’ve been known to choke on liquids and solids, and now I have an unnecessary risk for heart disease because of my poor dental health.

Since prescribed medications prevent medical emergencies, hospitalizations and lower doctor visits, I think Congress would be wise to consider the cost savings by removing the limit on medications allowed, just as an economic boost to the Medicaid economy. As far as dental health goes, I’m sure I’m not the only one who is at risk for cardiac disease or a choking emergency or death because of lack of dental care.

Thank you for your time.

About Kathy Powers
Advocacy is my therapy. Chicago, IL

Leave a Reply

