Tell me about your despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.

I put myself into desperate moods. Others lift me. Advocacy is my therapy.

A Trick of Light

image by Rob Wanenchak image by Rob Wanenchak

People love you. You need them. You can’t live without them. They help you. But in the end the only person who can make you well is you. – I’ll Be Yours For a Song

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while, but what kicked me into it now was two things. The death of David Bowie turned out to be a big one, and it was primarily sparked by what people were saying regarding what he personally meant to them: That he stood for the idea that it was okay to be weird and awkward and vulnerable, that outcasts have worth and value. That if you love what you do, you shouldn’t be ashamed of it. And so many of my friends – and acquaintances/colleagues/whatever – are creative people and also people who have felt weird and ill-fitting for most of their…

View original post 1,902 more words

About Kathy Powers
Advocacy is my therapy. Chicago, IL

Leave a Reply

