I Thought I Was Too Smart for Schizophrenia

A social worker told me that I was too smart to have mental illness because I knew what the word ‘dyslexia’ was.

Mind You

By Erin Emiru (nee Hawkes)

I have schizophrenia, they tell me. They line up my symptoms and thrust the diagnosis in my face. So here are your pills.

When I stop taking those medications I lose my grip on reality, but I don’t know this. They – my psychiatrist, a Security guard, the police – bring me to the hospital (again) and I am told (again) that I have schizophrenia.

No, I don’t. People with schizophrenia don’t have a Master’s degree in Neuroscience. I’m simply too intelligent to have schizophrenia, right?

Then why do rats eat my brain, why do Voices yell at me, and why am I being stalked by a homicidal man with a sniper gun (I’ve got proof)? I assume it is normal. I don’t have any friends and I have withdrawn from my family so no one but Them (doctors, nurses – everyone in league with the…

View original post 637 more words

About Kathy Powers
Advocacy is my therapy. Chicago, IL

Leave a Reply

