“During my career as a Chicago Public School principal, I have often been at odds with the Chicago Teachers Union.”

Fred Klonsky

troy-for-mayor (1)

-From Troy LaRaviere’s blog.

During my career as a Chicago Public School principal, I have often been at odds with the Chicago Teachers Union. I have been the target of multiple grievances filed by CTU against me when I have disciplined or dismissed a teacher. All were signed by Karen Lewis, and I fought most of them vigorously. Given that history, you might think it odd that I support several CTU stances.  However, I believe in a simple truth: When you’re wrong, you’re wrong; and when you’re right, you’re right. Unfortunately, our mayor and his appointed board of education have been so irresponsible and so reckless, that I find myself squarely in agreement with the CTU on several school issues.

When they’re right, they’re right.

Furthermore, during the latest contract negotiations, I have come to the conclusion that CTU’s refusal to accept the Board’s last contract offer gives the residents of Chicago the…

View original post 322 more words

About Kathy Powers
Advocacy is my therapy. Chicago, IL

Leave a Reply

