No Selfies, I

Camera

I capture time
In my camera
On a SIM card
For my future.

Sometimes I delete ugly or blurry memories.
Sometimes I never look at them.
Sometimes I Photoshop them
And recolor them as I want them to look.

I hardly ever print them;
I hide them in my camera.
When I look, I can’t see me behind the lens
Just light, color, darkness and other people.

As the invisible observer,
I do not play, laugh or cry.
My camera protects me
And lets me control life’s risks.

http://reallifemag.com/the-spy-is-a-camera/#like-16130

 

About Kathy Powers
Advocacy is my therapy. Chicago, IL

Leave a Reply

